

## Approved Procedure

Required by the Electoral Act 2004, sections

72(c), 73(3), 88(2), 89(3), 89(5), 124(2)(c),

214(2)(b) and 226(3)(b)

Approved by the Tasmanian Electoral Commission on 27 March 2018

The Tasmanian Electoral Commission approves the newspapers shown for each Legislative Council division listed below, for the purpose of the publication, declaration or application required under the sections specified.

The following sections of the Act require publication in an approved newspaper:

Section 72(c) – duties of returning officer on receipt of writ

Section 73(3) – extension of time

Section 88(2) – election without poll

Section 89(3) – election with poll (details of poll, candidates and, if applicable groups)

Section 89(5) – election with poll (list of polling places)

Section 124(2)(c) – adjournment of polling

Section 214(2)(b) – withdrawal of application under section 205 Section 226(3)(b) – procedure if vacancy occurs in the Assembly

List of newspaper for publication of notices or declarations for each Legislative Council division:

## Legislative Council division Newspaper(s)

Derwent The Mercury and The Examiner

Elwick The Mercury Hobart The Mercury Huon The Mercury The Examiner Launceston The Examiner McIntyre Mersey The Advocate The Advocate Montgomery The Advocate Murchison Nelson The Mercury Pembroke The Mercury

Prosser The Mercury and The Examiner

Rosevears The Examiner
Rumney The Mercury
Windermere The Examiner