



# ABORIGINAL LAND COUNCIL OF TASMANIA

## 2017-18 ELECTION

The Aboriginal Lands Act 1995 (the Act) provides for the election of the Aboriginal Land Council of Tasmania (ALCT) to hold and manage Aboriginal land on behalf of the Aboriginal people of Tasmania. The ALCT comprises 8 members elected for terms of approximately 3 years. Two members are elected from each of the South region, North region and North-West region and one member from each of the Cape Barren Island group and the Flinders Island group.

The 2017-18 ALCT election will be conducted by the Electoral Commissioner in accordance with the provisions of the Act.

#### The ALCT Electors Roll

The Act requires the Electoral Commissioner to prepare and maintain an ALCT Electors Roll. To vote or to stand for election to the ALCT, a person must have their name entered on this Roll.

The Electors Roll currently comprises the names of persons who were entitled to vote at the previous ALCT elections conducted in 2015.

The procedure for adding names to the ALCT Electors Roll involves the names of applicants being placed on a Preliminary Roll. Following an objection and appeal process, names are transferred from the Preliminary Roll to the Electors Roll.

#### **Enrolment invited**

Applications for enrolment on the ALCT Electors Roll are now invited. To be entitled to be enrolled, a person must—

- be an Aboriginal person within the meaning of the Act; and
- live in the electoral area for which they wish to be enrolled; and
- be at least 18 years of age.

Enrolment forms and election booklets can be obtained at our website (www.tec.tas.gov.au), from the office of the Tasmanian Electoral Commission at the address shown below or by calling 1800 801 701.

## The 2017-18 Enrolment and election booklet

This booklet has been produced by the Electoral Commissioner and includes—

- An explanation of the ALCT Electors Roll, the Preliminary Roll and the enrolment
- Guidelines in relation to the definition of 'Aboriginal person'.
- Durandomes in relation to the definition of Aboriginal p
- Procedures for dealing with objections to enrolment.
  A summary of the procedures for the election of 8 members to the Council.
- A description of the electoral areas.

## 2017-18 Election Timetable

#### \_\_\_\_

Enrolment process

Preliminary Roll closes 5pm Thursday 5 October 2017

Preliminary Roll may be inspected from Close of objections to enrolments 5pm Monday 13 November 2017

Objections accepted or rejected by Tuesday 19 December 2017

#### Nominations pario

Nominations periodNominations openSaturday 17 March 2018Nominations close12noon Friday 25 May 2018

### Voting period

Ballot papers posted to electors

Monday 4 June 2018

Close of ballot

10am Tuesday 26 June 2018

## Applications for enrolment must be received by 5pm on Thursday 5 October 2017

Andrew Hawkey – Electoral Commissioner, 29 July 2017