TEC logo

About Legislative Council

2019 Legislative Council elections.

In 2019, elections will be held for the divisions of Montgomery, Nelson and Pembroke

Remember, voting in the Legislative Council elections is compulsory.

There are fifteen Legislative Council divisions:

On Saturday 5 August 2017, new Legislative Council electoral boundaries came into effect due to the completion of the 2016-17 Legislative Council Electoral Boundaries Redistribution process.
New maps and division descriptions 

You can learn more about the redistribution and new boundaries here .

Previous Legislative Council Elections

Archived election pages and results summaries

2018 Legislative Council Elections

The Periodic Election Cycle

Elections are conducted on a 6 year periodic cycle. Elections for 3 members are held in May one year, with elections for 2 members held in May the following year and so on. Each elector may only have one opportunity to vote in Legislative Council elections once every 6 years.

Quarterly Enrolment -

Under section 9 of the Legislative Council Electoral Boundaries Act 1995, the Electoral Commissioner is to publish quarterly Legislative Council enrolment figures.

The Periodic Cycle

Periodic Legislative Council elections are held on the first Saturday in May each year, as outlined below:

Historic data
2019 Montgomery History
Nelson History
Pembroke History
2020 Huon History
Rosevears History
2021 Derwent History
Mersey History
Windermere History
2022 McIntyre History
Elwick History
2023 Launceston History
Murchison History
Rumney History
2024 Hobart History
Prosser History

Electing 2 Houses of Parliament

A great infographic comparing the differences in electing the 2 houses of Parliament in Tasmania.

Vote Alert

Who Represents


Working for
the TEC

Voting Systems in Tasmania

Received an
Infringement Notice?

© Tasmanian Electoral Commission