TEC logo

Legislative Council

On Saturday 5 August 2017, new Legislative Council electoral boundaries came into effect due to the completion of the 2016-17 Legislative Council Electoral Boundaries Redistribution process. We will publish new maps as soon as they are available.

You can learn more about the redistribution and new boundaries here .

Boundaries determined by the Redistribution Tribunal on 10 May 2008.

Click on thumbnails to view division maps


takes in most of the eastern side of Tasmania, from Flinders Island to Campania including the midlands. Apsley includes the Dorset municipal area, Break O’Day municipal area, Glamorgan-Spring Bay municipal area, Southern Midlands municipal area, rural region of Launceston municipal area including: Lebrina, Lilydale, Targa, Upper Blessington and White Hills, eastern region of Northern Midlands municipal area including: Evandale, Epping Forest, Avoca, Campbell Town and Ross.


takes in Derwent Valley municipal area, Brighton municipal area, part of Glenorchy City municipal area north of Faulkners Rivulet and west of the main railway line including Granton, Austins Ferry and parts of Claremont, part of Central Highlands municipal area south-west of Pine and Ouse Rivers including Derwent Bridge, Bronte Park, Tarraleah, Ouse and Hamilton.


takes in all of the Glenorchy City municipal area south of Faulkners Rivulet (in Claremont) and includes Cadbury Point east of the main railway line. Elwick includes the localities of: Chigwell, Berriedale, Collinsvale, Rosetta, Montrose, Goodwood, Glenorchy, Derwent Park, Moonah, West Moonah, and Lutana.


division takes in the central Hobart metropolitan area north of the Sandy Bay Rivulet, including Lenah Valley, New Town, Mount Stuart, North Hobart, Glebe, West Hobart, Hobart, South Hobart and Battery Point.


is a southern division that takes in Huonville, Cygnet, Franklin, Dover, Southport and Port Huon as well as Blackmans Bay and parts of Kingston. Bruny Island is also included in the division.


takes in central and southern parts of Launceston City municipal area, including Youngtown, Punchbowl and Kings Meadows, and most of South Launceston, East Launceston, Newstead, Norwood and Prospect.  It also includes Prospect Vale, Blackstone Heights, Travellers Rest and Hadspen from the Meander Valley municipal area.


includes Devonport City municipal area, the region of Central Coast municipal area east of Claytons Rivulet and Little Claytons Rivulet including: Turners Beach, Leith, Forth and Kindred; the western region of Latrobe municipal area including: the Latrobe township, Tarleton and parts of Wesley Vale and Moriarty.


is a north western division extending from Burnie to Ulverstone, although it does not include that part of Burnie west of Shorewell Creek. Montgomery includes most of the hinterland of Burnie City and Central Coast municipal areas, but not Turners Beach, Forth or Kindred.


takes in the municipal areas of Circular Head, King Island, Waratah-Wynyard and West Coast. It also includes part of the Burnie City municipal area lying generally west of Shorewell Creek.


takes in Sandy Bay, Dynnyrne, Tolmans Hill, Mount Nelson, Fern Tree, Ridgeway, Taroona, Bonnet Hill, Kingston and Kingston Beach, along with parts of Leslie Vale, Neika and Longley.


encompasses that part of the Clarence City municipal area lying west of the Meehan Range and includes Otago, Risdon Vale, Geilston Bay, Lindisfarne, Rose Bay, Rosny, Bellerive, Warrane, Mornington, Howrah and Tranmere. It does not include the area known as Howrah Gardens.


is a northern division that takes in Greens Beach, Beauty Point, Beaconsfield, Exeter, Legana and Rosevears as well as part of the City of Launceston, including Riverside, Trevallyn, West Launceston and Summerhill.


includes the municipal areas of Sorell and Tasman, as well as that part of the Clarence City municipal area lying generally east of the Meehan Range.

Western Tiers

takes in the Kentish municipal area, outlying parts of the Latrobe municipal area, the rural part of the Meander Valley municipal area west of the South Esk River, the western part of the Northern Midlands municipal area including Perth, Longford, Cressy and Poatina, and the northern part of Central Highlands municipal area including Bothwell, Waddamana, and the Great Lake


includes George Town municipal area, East Tamar region from Swan Bay to Rocherlea, North Launceston suburbs from Mayfield to Invermay, Launceston suburbs east of Elphin Rd and Penquite Rd including: Ravenswood, Waverley, and St Leonards; parts of East Launceston, Newstead and Norwood.

Whole of state map

What's in a name?

Here is a little history behind the names of the current Legislative Council divisions.

Click on the division name to read more.

Who Represents You?

Use this simple search tool to learn who currently represents you at each level of government.

Vote Alert

Who Represents


Working for
the TEC

Voting Systems in Tasmania

Received an
Infringement Notice?

© Tasmanian Electoral Commission, 2016-