TEC logo

Local Government Elections

Glamorgan-Spring Bay Council by-elections

By-elections, conducted by postal ballot, were held to fill vacancies for Mayor and one Councillor on the Glamorgan-Spring Bay Council.

Clarification about the counting process 

West Tamar Council recount

A recount is required to fill a vacancy for councillor on the West Tamar Council created by the resignation of Councillor Carol Bracken.

The TEC has written to eligible candidates not elected at the 2018 election inviting them to participate. The period of consent closed at 12 noon on Monday 13 July 2020.

As ballot papers for the ordinary election had been data entered, a computer calculated result is expected not long after the close.

Result, 1:00pm 13/07/20 [opens in new tab]

Vacancies since the 2018 elections

By-elections and Recounts held to fill vacancies.

Hobart City Council elector poll

The Tasmanian Electoral Commission has been requested by the Hobart City Council to conduct an elector poll.

Tasman Council elector poll

The Tasmanian Electoral Commission has been requested by the Tasman Council to conduct an elector poll.

2018 Local Government elections

Elections, conducted by postal ballot, were held to fill councillor, mayor and deputy mayor positions for 28 local councils statewide.

About the Election

Glenorchy City Council logo

2017/18 Glenorchy City Council election

An election, conducted by postal ballot, was held to elect 10 Councillors (Aldermen), and a Mayor and Deputy Mayor on the Glenorchy City Council.

Who can vote at a local government election?

Anyone who is enrolled on the State roll for an address in a municipal area, is automatically enrolled for the municipal area as well.

Other people who own or occupy land in the municipal area, or are the nominated representatives of a corporate body which owns or occupies land in the municipal area, are also eligible to enrol, but must lodge an application with the General Manager.

Graphic of local government areas map

Local government is the third tier of government in Tasmania.

Tasmania is divided into 29 municipal areas, with each area having a governing council consisting of between 7 and 12 councillors. Each council is chaired by a mayor and has a deputy mayor.

Elections for Tasmania's 29 councils will be conducted by full postal ballot every four years. The next Local Government elections will be held during September and October 2022.

Map of Tasmania's Local Government Areas

A statewide map displaying the boundaries of the 29 Local Government municipal areas.

Local government election reports.

Results and information about Tasmanian local government elections, dating back to 1999.

About Voting at Local Government Elections

Uniquely, Tasmanian Local Government elections are conducted by postal ballot - election material (including the ballot paper) is personally mailed directly to each elector.

Vote Alert

Who Represents


Working for
the TEC

Voting Systems in Tasmania

Received an
Infringement Notice?

© Tasmanian Electoral Commission