TEC logo

Legislative Council
Elections 2019 -

Ordinary elections are conducted on a 6 year periodic cycle. Elections for 3 members are held in May one year, with elections for 2 members held in May the following year and so on.

In 2019, Legislative Council elections are being held in the divisions of Montgomery, Nelson and Pembroke.

Preview of <Montgomery division map



  • the Central Coast municipal area, and
  • the Burnie City municipal area generally east of Shorewell Creek and south of Hillcrest and South Burnie, including Acton, Brooklyn, Romaine, Emu Heights and Havenview, and
  • the Western side of the Kentish municipal area including Sheffield and Paradise.

Preview of Nelson division map



  • the Hobart City municipal area south of the Sandy Bay Rivulet and east of the Southern Outlet, including Sandy Bay, Mount Nelson and part of Dynnyrne, and
  • the Kingborough municipal area north of Algona Road and Pearsall Avenue in Blackmans Bay, including Kingston and Kingston Beach, along with parts of Blackmans Bay, Leslie Vale, Neika and Longley.

Preview of Pembroke division map



  • the Clarence City municipal area south of Geilston Creek Road and west of the Meehan Range and includes Geilston Bay, Lindisfarne, Rose Bay, Rosny, Bellerive, Warrane, Mornington, Howrah and Tranmere.

Which Division am I Enrolled in?

Check your enrolment on the Australian Electoral Commission website (opens in a new tab).

There are fifteen Legislative Council divisions:

On Saturday 5 August 2017, new Legislative Council electoral boundaries came into effect due to the completion of the 2016-17 Legislative Council Electoral Boundaries Redistribution process.
New maps and division descriptions 

You can learn more about the redistribution and new boundaries here .

Each division is represented by one Member of the Legislative Council.

Who Represents You?

Use this simple search tool to learn who currently represents you at each level of government.

© Tasmanian Electoral Commission